The Fall by Albert Camus

Image of The Fall

The Fall (French: La Chute) is a philosophical novel written by Albert Camus. First published in 1956, it is his last complete work of fiction. Set in Amsterdam, The Fall consists of a series of dramatic monologues by the self-proclaimed "judge-penitent" Jean-Baptiste Clamence, as he reflects upon his life to a stranger. In what amounts to a confession, Clamence tells of his success as a wealthy Parisian defence lawyer who was highly respected by his colleagues; his crisis, and his ultimate "fall" from grace, was meant to invoke, in secular terms, The Fall of Man in the Garden of Eden. The Fall explores themes of innocence and guilt, freedom, and the meaninglessness of human existence. Clamence can be seen to follow in the tradition of both Friedrich Nietzsche's Zarathustra and Fyodor Dostoevsky's Notes from Underground. Like these works, the main force of Camus' novel lies in its use of narrative technique which, as Clamence reflects upon the way he has lived his life, challenges the reader to examine the way he has lived his own. Camus' primary aim is to draw the reader to the conclusion that life is entirely absurd — and then teach them to come to terms with it. In a eulogy to Camus, Jean-Paul Sartre described the novel as "perhaps the most beautiful and the least understood" of Camus' books (Aronson 5).

- Wikipedia

The 572nd greatest fiction book of all time


This book is on the following lists:

  1. - 13th on El Pais Favorite Books of 100 Spanish Authors (El Pais)
  2. - 50 Memorable Books from 50 Years of Books to Remember (The New York Public Library)

Buy This Book

Paperback
  • The Fall
    Image of The Fall
    Sales Rank
    49787
    Lowest New Price
    $7.91
    Lowest Used Price
    $1.25
    Year Published
    1991
  • The Fall
    Image of The Fall
    Sales Rank
    279528
    Lowest New Price
    $5.50
    Lowest Used Price
    Year Published
    2015
  • The Fall
    Image of The Fall
    Sales Rank
    640308
    Lowest New Price
    $9.10
    Lowest Used Price
    Year Published
    2016
  • The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics)
    Image of The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics)
    Sales Rank
    868637
    Lowest New Price
    $4.30
    Lowest Used Price
    $4.30
    Year Published
    2007
  • Fall, The
    Image of Fall, The
    Sales Rank
    1112623
    Lowest New Price
    $11.18
    Lowest Used Price
    $1.01
    Year Published
  • FALL V223
    Image of FALL V223
    Sales Rank
    1410719
    Lowest New Price
    $2.97
    Lowest Used Price
    $0.01
    Year Published
    1963
  • Der Fall.
    Image of Der Fall.
    Sales Rank
    6122237
    Lowest New Price
    $8.50
    Lowest Used Price
    $5.00
    Year Published
    1997
  • The Fall (Methuen's Twentieth Century French Texts)
    Image of The Fall (Methuen's Twentieth Century French Texts)
    Sales Rank
    7074397
    Lowest New Price
    Lowest Used Price
    $4.00
    Year Published
    1971
Hardcover
  • The Fall
    Image of The Fall
    Sales Rank
    689409
    Lowest New Price
    $44.14
    Lowest Used Price
    $0.01
    Year Published
    1957
  • The Fall
    Image of The Fall
    Sales Rank
    1542488
    Lowest New Price
    Lowest Used Price
    $3.35
    Year Published
Kindle Edition