Anthony Trollope




Anthony Trollope (; 24 April 1815 – 6 December 1882) was an English novelist of the Victorian era. Among his best-known works is a series of novels collectively known as the Chronicles of Barsetshire, which revolves around the imaginary county of Barsetshire. He also wrote novels on political, social, and gender issues, and other topical matters.Trollope's literary reputation dipped somewhat during the last years of his life, but he had regained the esteem of critics by the mid-20th century.





The best books of all time by Anthony Trollope

  1. 419 . The Last Chronicle of Barset by Anthony Trollope

    The Last Chronicle of Barset concerns an indigent but learned clergyman, the Reverend Josiah Crawley, the curate of Hogglestock, as he stands accused of stealing a cheque. The novel is notable for...

  2. 427 . An Autobiography of Anthony Trollope by Anthony Trollope

    An Autobiography of Anthony Trollope

    - Google
  3. 448 . The Way We Live Now by Anthony Trollope

    'Trollope did not write for posterity,' observed Henry James. 'He wrote for the day, the moment; but these are just the writers whom posterity is apt to put into its pocket.' Considered by contempo...

  4. 468 . Barchester Towers by Anthony Trollope

    Barchester Towers, published in 1857, is the second novel in Anthony Trollope's series known as the "Chronicles of Barsetshire". Among other things it satirises the then raging antipathy in the Chu...

  5. 880 . The Warden by Anthony Trollope

    The Warden is the first novel in Anthony Trollope's series known as the "Chronicles of Barsetshire", published in 1855. It was his fourth novel.

  6. 1224 . Phineas Finn by Anthony Trollope

    Phineas Finn is a novel by Anthony Trollope and the name of its leading character. The novel was first published as a monthly serial from October 1867 to May 1868 in St Paul's Magazine. It is the s...

  7. 1569 . The Eustace Diamonds by Anthony Trollope

    "The Eustace Diamonds is a social comedy of greed and deception that meticulously studies the Victorian society. The protagonist, Lizzie is a beautiful but wicked young woman who is underprivileged...

    - Google
  8. 1935 . The Chronicles of Barsetshire by Anthony Trollope

    The Chronicles of Barsetshire is a series of six novels by the English author Anthony Trollope, set in the fictitious cathedral town of Barchester. These classics of Victorian literature concern th...