Arturo Pérez-Reverte

Arturo Pérez-Reverte is a Spanish novelist and journalist. He is known for his historical novels and adventure stories, including the popular 'Captain Alatriste' series. Before becoming a full-time writer, he worked as a war correspondent for over two decades.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. The Club Dumas

    The book follows Lucas Corso, a book detective who is hired to authenticate a rare manuscript by Alexandre Dumas. As he delves into the investigation, he finds himself entangled in a mystery involving two other books: a rare edition of "The Three Musketeers" and a satanic text, "The Book of Nine Doors of the Kingdom of Shadows". The narrative becomes a complex puzzle as Corso uncovers connections between the books, while also dealing with a seductive woman who seems to have stepped out of a Dumas novel, a mysterious killer, and a group of bibliophiles obsessed with Dumas. The lines between fiction and reality blur as he gets closer to the truth.

    The 3968th Greatest Book of All Time
  2. 2. The Fencing Master

    Set in 19th-century Madrid, the story follows Don Jaime Astarloa, an aging fencing master who clings to his principles and the art of fencing in a rapidly changing world. His life takes a dramatic turn when a mysterious and beautiful woman named Adela de Otero seeks his expertise in mastering the art of the sword. As Don Jaime becomes entangled in political intrigue and deception, he must navigate a web of secrets and danger, ultimately confronting his own beliefs and the shifting tides of honor and tradition.

    The 8101st Greatest Book of All Time