Garth Nix

Garth Nix is an Australian author of fantasy novels for young adults and children. He is best known for his 'Old Kingdom' series, which includes titles such as 'Sabriel', 'Lirael', and 'Abhorsen'. Nix's work is noted for its complex characters, inventive magic systems, and detailed world-building. He has received numerous awards and accolades for his contributions to the genre.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. Sabriel

    In a world where the living is bordered by the realm of the dead, a young woman named Sabriel inherits the role of Abhorsen from her father, tasked with keeping the dead at bay and maintaining the balance between life and death. Raised in a boarding school away from the magical Old Kingdom, she must quickly master the art of necromancy and wield the power of the Charter—a set of magical symbols—to navigate through perilous lands and confront a powerful evil that threatens to overwhelm the world of the living. Along her journey, Sabriel is aided by a mysterious cat-like creature and a young man ensnared by a powerful spell, as she seeks to fulfill her destiny and restore harmony to her fractured world.

    The 8468th Greatest Book of All Time
  2. 2. Frogkisser

    "Frogkisser" by Garth Nix is a whimsical fairy tale about a young princess named Anya who is tasked with saving her kingdom from an evil sorcerer. Along the way, she must go on a quest to gather magical items and enlist the help of various creatures, including talking dogs and a transformed prince who has been turned into a frog. With humor and heart, Anya learns the true meaning of bravery, friendship, and what it means to be a hero.

    The 10782nd Greatest Book of All Time