Téa Obreht

Téa Obreht is an American novelist and author of 'The Tiger's Wife,' which won the Orange Prize for Fiction in 2011. Her work is known for its rich storytelling and blending of myth and reality.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. The Tiger's Wife

    "The Tiger's Wife" is a captivating novel that weaves together the lives of a young doctor and her grandfather in war-torn Balkans. As the doctor embarks on a journey to uncover the truth behind her grandfather's mysterious death, she unravels a tapestry of folklore, superstition, and family secrets. Through her exploration, she uncovers the extraordinary story of the tiger's wife, a woman believed to possess the power to communicate with animals. This beautifully written tale explores themes of love, loss, and the enduring power of storytelling.

    The 3771st Greatest Book of All Time
  2. 2. Inland

    Set in the arid American West of the late 1800s, the novel weaves together the lives of two remarkable characters: a frontierswoman awaiting the return of her sons and husband to their drought-ridden homestead, and an outlaw on the run from his past, haunted by visions of lost camels and a mysterious boy. Their stories converge in a desolate town, where their fates intertwine through a series of events that encompass both the supernatural and the deeply human. The narrative explores themes of survival, myth, and the intersection of different cultures against a backdrop of a harsh and unforgiving landscape.

    The 10400th Greatest Book of All Time