Lloyd Jones

Lloyd Jones is a New Zealand author known for his novel 'Mister Pip', which won the Commonwealth Writers' Prize and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. The Book Of Fame

    "The Book of Fame" by Lloyd Jones is a captivating novel that delves into the lives of the 1905 All Blacks, New Zealand's first national rugby team. Through a series of interconnected stories, the book explores themes of fame, identity, and the impact of sport on society. It offers a unique perspective on the players' journey to international recognition, their struggles, triumphs, and the lasting legacy they leave behind. With its lyrical prose and rich characterization, this book is a celebration of both rugby and the human spirit.

    The 9053rd Greatest Book of All Time
  2. 2. Mister Pip

    In a war-torn village on a remote island, a young girl named Matilda finds solace and escape in the pages of a book called "Great Expectations". Taught by a mysterious and charismatic teacher, Mr. Watts, Matilda becomes enthralled by the story and its protagonist, Pip. As the conflict escalates and the outside world encroaches upon their isolated community, the power of literature and the transformative impact of storytelling are revealed, leaving a lasting impression on Matilda and those around her.

    The 9490th Greatest Book of All Time