Red Clocks by Leni Zumas

Five women. One question. What is a woman for? In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom. Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt. RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.

- Google

The 1867th greatest fiction book of all time


This book is on the following lists:

  1. - 7th on A Premature Attempt at the 21st Century Canon (Vulture)

Buy This Book

Name Binding Sales Rank Lowest New Lowest Used Published
Red Clocks: A Novel Kindle Edition 83976 2018
Red Clocks: A Novel Hardcover 405931 $5.76 $1.68 2018
Red Clocks: A Novel Audio CD 3045511 $20.30 $27.96 2018
Red Clocks: A Novel Paperback 61012 $9.99 $3.54 2018