The Caprices by Sabina Murray

Winner of the PEN/Faulkner award for fiction in 2003, The Caprices is a collection of stories artfully told across the theatre of the Pacific Campaign of World War II. An Anglo-Indian cavalryman, his homeland on the brink of revolution, finds himself in Malaysia fighting to protect British interests. Two soldiers lost in the jungle with a Japanese prisoner confront their prejudices toward each other, and the nature of being American. An island witnesses the passing of history from Magellan, to Amelia Earhart, to the dropping of the atomic bomb. With exquisite lyricism tempered by a journalist’s eye for detail, Murray shines light on the tangle of battles created by that conflict, the violent reach across the generations, the shattering reverberations in memory. With this collection, Sabina Murray established herself as a passionate and wise voice of literary fiction.

The 2143rd greatest fiction book of all time

This book is on the following lists:

  1. - PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction (PEN/Faulkner)

Buy This Book

Name Binding Sales Rank Lowest New Lowest Used Published
The Caprices Paperback 3795877 $9.62 $2.23 2007
The Caprices Paperback 7017253 $2.50 $2.00 2002
The Caprices Kindle Edition 715935 $8.79 2007
The Caprices Kindle Edition 629106 2007
The Caprices Paperback 2672980 $10.96 $2.71 2007