The Fan Man by William Kotzwinkle

The Fan Man is a cult comic novel published in 1974 by the American writer William Kotzwinkle. It is told in stream-of-consciousness style by the narrator, Horse Badorties (the titular "fan man"), a down-at-the-heels hippie living a life of drug-fueled befuddlement in New York City c. 1970. The book is written in a colorful, vernacular "hippie-speak" and tells the story of the main character's hapless attempts to put together a benefit concert featuring his own hand-picked choir of 15-year-old girls. Horse is a somewhat tragic, though historically humorous, character with echoes of other famous characters in popular culture such as Reverend Jim Ignatowski of Taxi fame. In his inability to follow anything through to completion he displays symptoms of attention-deficit disorder though this could equally be drug-induced. His defining characteristic is his joy in renting or commandeering apartments which he fills with street-scavenged junk articles until, full to bursting, he moves on to his next "pad". The name "fan man" is a reference to another of his traits; the collecting and selling of fans of all shapes and sizes. The book's most memorably absurd section is the chapter titled "Dorky Day" which features the repetitive statement of the word "dorky" by Horse as a cathartic mantra to dispel the ennui of a dead-end day.

The 1377th greatest fiction book of all time


This book is on the following lists:

  1. - 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die (The Book)

Buy This Book

Name Binding Sales Rank Lowest New Lowest Used Published
Fan Man Paperback 7432219 $14.98 $2.79 1987
Fan Man (Cambourakis Poche) (French Edition) Paperback 11896195 $22.27 $29.79 2012
The Fan Man Kindle Edition 659505 2013
Abc: Notebook Composition Journal,Gifts things for girl,women,men,College ruled,140 Pages,Fans,Merchandise,Unofficial Paperback 13779 $7.99 2018
Out Hustle Out Think Out Work Baseball Journal: Composition Book For Men Boys Gift For Baseball Fan Paperback 265326 $6.99 2019
Composition Notebook: Parrots, wild animals and birds fan design 110 Page 7.5x9.25 composition Blank Notebook college Wide ruled journal for women, men or your kids boy or girl Paperback 519545 $5.99 2019
Tucson Arizona: Notebook With Lined College Ruled Paper For Hiking, Camping & Biking Fans. Blank Notepad Journal for Men, Women & Kids. Fun Christmas Or Birthday Gift For Desert Nature Lovers. Paperback 1146284 $8.50 2019
Grand Canyon National Park: Notebook With Lined College Ruled Paper For Hiking, Camping & Biking Fans. Blank Notepad Journal for Men, Women & Kids. ... Or Birthday Gift For Desert Nature Lovers. Paperback 1214164 $8.95 2019
All the ugliest songs by U2: Funny notebook for fan. These books are gifts, collectibles or birthday card for kids boys girls men women. Joke present for U2 fans (Read the description below) Paperback 1228570 $6.97 2019
I Play In The Dirt Notebook: Lined journal for pot plant, flower and gardening fans - paperback, diary gift for men, women and children Paperback 1246932 $8.95 2019
Composition Notebook: Mermaid pattern and magical animals fan design 110 Page 7.5x9.25 composition Blank Notebook college Wide ruled journal for women, men or your kids boy or girl Paperback 1290539 $5.99 2019
Composition Notebook: Underwater, whale, ocean and sea animal fan design 110 Page 7.5x9.25 composition Blank Notebook college Wide ruled journal for women, men or your kids boy or girl Paperback 1747751 $5.99 2019
All the ugliest songs by Metallica: Funny notebook for fan. These books are gifts, collectibles or birthday card for kids boys men women. Joke present for Metallica fans (Read the description below Paperback 329859 $6.97 2019
The Fan Man: The Novel (Illustrated Edition) Paperback 1871071 $60.25 $3.99
The Fan Man Hardcover 3826548 $775.21 $303.57 1974
Batman Action Figure: Blank Lined Superhero Gift Journal- Diary for Comics & Adventure Fans Paperback 1312533 $6.99 2019
Warning May Spontaneously Talk About Pigeons Notebook: Lined journal for bird and pigeon fans - paperback, diary gift for men, women and children Paperback 1603508 $8.95 2019
Principal Mikey (LOL STEM Chapter Book. Ages 7-12. For Fans of Wimpy Kid, Dog Man, Dork Diaries, Junie B. Jones) Hardcover 126621 $10.50 $7.99 2018
Composition Notebook: Lizard and wild animals fan design 110 Page 7.5x9.25 composition Blank Notebook college Wide ruled journal for women, men or your kids boy or girl Paperback 1168662 $5.99 2019
Notebook: Lined notebook for Middle Ages and Templar fans - notebook for men, women, kids and children Paperback 1188721 $8.95 2019
I Am... Unstoppable Notebook: Lined notebook for dinosaur, saurian and fossil fans - perfect gift for men, women and kids Paperback 1328174 $8.95 2019
'I'm Going to Shoot You, McGill!': A Fan's Guide to Man in a Suitcase Paperback 1427007 $7.41 $16.41 2018
Creativity Is Intelligence Having Fun Notebook: Lined journal for crafting, knitting and drawing art fans - paperback, diary gift for men, women and children Paperback 1564036 $8.95 $25.43 2019
Fan Man Paperback 16149886 $21.50 $11.73 2008
Fan Man. Paperback 4859895 $10.05 1997
Fan Man Hardcover 18029481 $18.86 1974
The Fan Man Paperback 450407 $6.00 $7.92 2015
The Fan Man Paperback 1928010 $23.95 $2.50 1994