The Sorrow of Belgium by Hugo Claus

The Sorrow of Belgium (Dutch: Het verdriet van België) is a major novel first published in 1983 by the Belgian author Hugo Claus (1929–2008). It is widely considered Claus' major work and "the most important Dutch-language novel of the twentieth century" or "one of the great novels of postwar Europe".The Sorrow of Belgium explores the childhood and youth of Louis Seynaeve, a Flemish schoolboy living in the region of Kortrijk during World War II when Belgium was under German occupation. The novel itself is a bildungsroman formed from two sections: "The Sorrow" (Het verdriet); 27 numbered chapters with titles "of Belgium" (van België); text not divided in chapters.The work was first published in an English translation by Arnold J. Pomerans in 1994. It was also made into a mini-series the same year.

The 1311th greatest fiction book of all time

This book is on the following lists:

  1. - 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die (The Book)

Buy This Book

Name Binding Sales Rank Lowest New Lowest Used Published
The Sorrows of Belgium: Liberation and Political Reconstruction, 1944-1947 Hardcover 3549052 $150.00 $49.95 2012
La pena de Belgica / The Sorrow of Belgium (Spanish Edition) Paperback 12208664 $9.74 $34.00 2011
La pena de Bélgica (Spanish Edition) Kindle Edition 2279964 2012
Sorrow of Belgium Hardcover 12800096 $12.99
The Sorrow of Belgium (Chinese Edition) Hardcover 9120244 $44.23 2020
The Sorrow of Belgium Hardcover 1422081 $68.59 $1.35 1990
The Sorrow of Belgium (Tusk Ivories) Paperback 1741232 $16.49 $4.04 2003
The Sorrow of Belgium (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) Paperback 1464143 $78.85 $6.50 1994