A. S. Byatt

A. S. Byatt is a renowned British author known for her novels, essays, and short stories. She won the Booker Prize for her novel 'Possession' in 1990.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. Possession

    "Possession" is a novel that interweaves two storylines, one set in contemporary times and the other in the Victorian era. The contemporary plot follows two academics who uncover a secret love affair between two 19th-century poets, while the Victorian storyline presents the clandestine romance itself. As the modern scholars delve deeper into the past, they find themselves falling in love as well, mirroring the historical romance they are researching. The book explores themes of love, passion, and the power of the written word.

    The 438th Greatest Book of All Time
  2. 2. The Virgin in the Garden

    Set in 1953, during the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II, the novel explores the life of a highly intelligent young woman, Frederica Potter, who aspires to attend the University of Cambridge. The narrative follows her struggles with the societal norms of post-war England, her family's expectations, and her own intellectual and emotional growth. Interwoven with Frederica's story is a parallel narrative about a theatrical production celebrating the coronation, which serves as a metaphor for the cultural and social changes occurring in England at the time.

    The 2047th Greatest Book of All Time
  3. 3. The Children's Book

    "The Children's Book" is a historical novel that explores the lives of several families, primarily the Wellwoods, from the end of the Victorian era through World War I. The story delves into the complex relationships between parents and children, the influence of storytelling, and the impact of political and social changes on personal lives. It also portrays the struggles of women's suffrage, socialism, and the arts and crafts movement. The narrative is intricately woven with fairy tales and myths, reflecting the characters' inner lives and the era's cultural milieu.

    The 3440th Greatest Book of All Time
  4. 4. The Djinn in the Nightingale's Eye

    "The Djinn in the Nightingale's Eye" is a collection of five fairy tales written by A. S. Byatt. Each story explores themes of desire, power, and the consequences of making deals with supernatural beings. The title story follows a young woman named Gillian who discovers a djinn trapped in a bottle and must navigate the consequences of setting him free. The other tales include a retelling of "Cinderella" and a story about a woman who becomes obsessed with a painting of a bird. Byatt's writing is rich in detail and explores the complexities of human nature through the lens of fantastical storytelling.

    The 10908th Greatest Book of All Time