Robert Louis Stevenson

Robert Louis Stevenson was a Scottish novelist, poet, and travel writer, best known for works such as 'Treasure Island', 'Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde', and 'Kidnapped'. His writing is celebrated for its vivid storytelling and imaginative narratives.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. Treasure Island

    This classic adventure novel tells the story of young Jim Hawkins, who stumbles upon a treasure map and embarks on a perilous journey to find the buried treasure. Along the way, he encounters a host of memorable characters, including the cunning and treacherous Long John Silver. The narrative is filled with action, intrigue, and suspense, as Hawkins and his companions face pirates, mutiny, and other dangers in their quest for the hidden treasure.

    The 96th Greatest Book of All Time
  2. 2. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

    This classic novel explores the duality of human nature through the story of a respected London doctor who creates a potion that transforms him into a sinister, violent alter ego. As the doctor increasingly loses control over when the transformations occur, his alter ego's evil deeds escalate, causing havoc in the community. The narrative is a chilling exploration of humanity's capacity for evil and the struggle for individuals to reconcile their public personas with their private desires.

    The 212th Greatest Book of All Time
  3. 3. Kidnapped

    This adventure novel follows the journey of a young Scottish man, David Balfour, who is tricked by his uncle and sold into slavery. After being shipwrecked, he partners with a Jacobite rebel, Alan Breck Stewart, and they journey across the Scottish Highlands, evading authorities and battling foes. Throughout the narrative, themes of justice, friendship, and courage are explored, set against the backdrop of 18th-century Scottish politics.

    The 943rd Greatest Book of All Time
  4. 4. The Master of Ballantrae: A Winter's Tale

    "The Master of Ballantrae: A Winter's Tale" is a captivating adventure story set in Scotland during the Jacobite rebellion of 1745. The narrative revolves around two brothers, James and Henry Durie, who are torn apart by their conflicting loyalties to the English king and the exiled Stuart court. The elder, James, is presumed dead after a lost battle, but returns years later to claim his inheritance, leading to a bitter feud that spans continents and decades. The story is filled with duels, treachery, shipwrecks, and buried treasure, exploring themes of love, hate, revenge, and the destructive power of obsession.

    The 1548th Greatest Book of All Time
  5. 5. Travels with a Donkey in the Cévennes

    This book is a travelogue detailing the author's 12-day, 120-mile solo journey through the sparsely populated and impoverished areas of the Cévennes mountains in south-central France. The narrative focuses on his interactions with the locals, the picturesque landscapes, and his humorous struggles with his stubborn travel companion, a donkey named Modestine. The journey is reflective and introspective, allowing the author to muse on the human condition, religion, and the simple joys of travel.

    The 2359th Greatest Book of All Time
  6. 6. A Child's Garden Of Verses

    "A Child's Garden of Verses" is a collection of poetry that delves into the imaginative and innocent world of childhood. The poems capture the joys and adventures of youth, from sailing boats down a river, to swinging in the garden, and pondering shadows. The verses beautifully encapsulate the child's perspective, offering a nostalgic glimpse into the simple pleasures and fantasies of being young, making it a cherished read for both children and adults alike.

    The 2930th Greatest Book of All Time
  7. 7. The Black Arrow: A Tale Of The Two Roses

    This novel is a historical adventure set during the Wars of the Roses, a tumultuous period of English history marked by fierce conflicts between the houses of Lancaster and York. The story follows the young protagonist, Richard Shelton, as he navigates the complexities of loyalty, revenge, and love amidst the backdrop of civil war. As he seeks to avenge his father's death and secure his inheritance, Richard's journey is fraught with danger, betrayal, and the moral dilemmas of justice versus vengeance. Along the way, he encounters a cast of characters that challenge his beliefs and loyalties, ultimately leading him to question the true meaning of honor and the cost of war. The narrative combines historical detail with the adventure and romance characteristic of the author's works, creating a compelling tale of a young man's quest for justice in a divided nation.

    The 5653rd Greatest Book of All Time
  8. 8. Essays Of Robert Louis Stevenson

    This collection of essays offers a window into the mind of its renowned author, showcasing his wide-ranging interests, personal reflections, and literary prowess. The essays cover topics as diverse as travel, dreams, writing, and the complexities of human nature, all conveyed with the author's characteristic wit, eloquence, and insight. Through these pieces, readers are invited to ponder life's great questions and to appreciate the everyday wonders that the author observes with such keen perception and articulates with timeless grace.

    The 6195th Greatest Book of All Time
  9. 9. The New Arabian Nights

    This collection of stories weaves a tapestry of adventure, mystery, and the exotic, set against the backdrop of the European and Eastern landscapes. It follows the exploits of a whimsical club of adventurers who engage in a series of thrilling escapades, from a bizarre murder investigation to the pursuit of a secret society. The tales are imbued with the spirit of the original Arabian Nights, blending the fantastic with the realistic, and are characterized by the author's signature wit and vivid imagination. Through these narratives, the book explores themes of romance, honor, and the nature of storytelling itself, all while captivating readers with its inventive plots and colorful characters.

    The 6195th Greatest Book of All Time
  10. 10. Weir Of Hermiston

    The unfinished novel set in the time of the Napoleonic Wars tells the story of Archie Weir, a young man at odds with his stern father, Lord Hermiston, the Lord Justice-Clerk of Scotland. Exiled to his family's rural estate, Hermiston, after expressing unpopular opinions in court, Archie falls in love with Christina Elliott, a spirited local girl. The narrative explores themes of justice, passion, and societal expectations, as Archie's personal growth and romantic desires clash with the harsh realities of his father's unyielding moral code. The novel's abrupt end, due to the author's untimely death, leaves the resolution of these conflicts to the reader's imagination.

    The 6195th Greatest Book of All Time