Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings was an American author and novelist known for her works of fiction about rural life in the American South. Her most famous work, 'The Yearling', won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1939 and tells the story of a young boy who adopts an orphaned fawn. Her writing is celebrated for its realistic dialogue and vivid descriptions of the Florida backcountry.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. The Yearling

    "The Yearling" is a coming-of-age story set in the late 19th century, in the scrubland of Florida. It follows a young boy who adopts an orphaned baby deer and nurtures it into adulthood. As the deer grows, it begins to cause problems for the boy's family, who are struggling to survive as subsistence farmers. The boy is eventually forced to choose between his love for the deer and his responsibility to his family, leading to a heartbreaking decision that marks his transition into adulthood.

    The 1009th Greatest Book of All Time
  2. 2. Cross Creek

    "Cross Creek" is a memoir that captures the author's experiences living in a remote rural community in Florida during the 1930s. The narrative beautifully intertwines the natural landscape and the colorful lives of the local residents, offering a vivid portrayal of the challenges and joys of rural life. The author's deep connection to the land and her neighbors is explored through rich, descriptive prose, revealing her profound appreciation for the beauty and harshness of the environment, as well as the simplicity and complexity of human relationships in a close-knit community.

    The 8235th Greatest Book of All Time