Elizabeth Strout

Elizabeth Strout is an American author best known for her works in contemporary fiction. She received widespread acclaim for her novel 'Olive Kitteridge,' which won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2009. Her writing often explores the intricacies of human relationships and the complexities of life in small-town America. Other notable works include 'Amy and Isabelle,' 'The Burgess Boys,' and 'My Name Is Lucy Barton.'


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. Olive Kitteridge

    The book is a collection of 13 interconnected short stories revolving around Olive Kitteridge, a retired schoolteacher living in a small town in Maine. Olive is a complex character with a prickly exterior but a deep well of emotion and empathy beneath the surface. Through her interactions and relationships with various town residents, the book explores themes of love, loss, aging, and change, painting a rich portrait of a community and its inhabitants.

  2. 2. My Name Is Lucy Barton

    The novel is a deeply moving exploration of the complex relationship between a mother and daughter. The protagonist, Lucy Barton, is recovering from a surgery in a New York hospital when she is visited by her estranged mother. Over the course of several days, they share stories from their past, revealing their troubled family history, poverty, and abuse. As Lucy grapples with her own identity and struggles to understand her mother, she also reflects on her own experiences as a wife and mother, her desire to become a writer, and her battle with a mysterious illness. Through their conversations, the two women attempt to reconcile their past and their relationship.

  3. 3. Anything Is Possible

    "Anything is Possible" is a collection of interconnected stories exploring the lives and struggles of various residents in a small town in Illinois. The stories delve into the characters' pasts, revealing their secrets, regrets, and the complexities of their relationships. The book explores themes of poverty, trauma, and the human capacity for change, demonstrating that despite hardships and heartbreak, anything is possible.

  4. 4. Olive, Again

    In this poignant sequel, readers revisit the complex and compelling world of a prickly yet deeply human protagonist, now grappling with the changes of older age. Through a series of interlinked stories set in a small town in Maine, the narrative delves into themes of love, loss, and the intricacies of human relationships. As the protagonist confronts her own mortality and the evolving lives of those around her, the novel paints a rich and nuanced portrait of a community where personal histories are as rocky and enduring as the coastal landscape, offering a profound exploration of the resilience required to embrace life's second chapters.