Frances Hodgson Burnett

Frances Hodgson Burnett was a British-American novelist and playwright. She is best known for her children's stories, including 'Little Lord Fauntleroy', 'A Little Princess', and 'The Secret Garden'.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. The Secret Garden

    A young, spoiled and unloved girl is sent to live with her reclusive uncle in a large, lonely house after the death of her parents. Through the discovery and cultivation of a hidden, neglected garden, she befriends a local boy and her sickly cousin, and the three children find healing and transformation through their friendship and the magic of the garden.

    The 363rd Greatest Book of All Time
  2. 2. A Little Princess

    This classic children's novel tells the story of a young, wealthy girl who is sent to a boarding school in London from India after her father's death. Despite her privileged upbringing, she is mistreated by the headmistress and forced to work as a servant to pay off her father's debts. She endures her hardships by maintaining her kindness and generosity, and by using her imagination to escape her grim reality. Eventually, her fortunes change dramatically due to a surprising twist of fate.

    The 2103rd Greatest Book of All Time