Shelby Foote

Shelby Foote was an American writer and historian, best known for his three-volume history of the American Civil War, entitled 'The Civil War: A Narrative'. He was born on November 17, 1916, in Greenville, Mississippi, and passed away on June 27, 2005. Foote's works, which combine literary narrative with historical accuracy, have been praised for their vivid storytelling and detailed research. In addition to his historical writings, Foote was also a novelist and contributed to the documentary series 'The Civil War' by Ken Burns, where he provided extensive on-camera commentary.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. The Civil War

    This comprehensive three-volume series provides an in-depth and detailed narrative of the American Civil War. It encompasses the political, social, and military aspects of the war, offering a balanced view of both the Union and Confederate sides. The series also delves into the personal experiences of key figures, including generals and soldiers, as well as civilians affected by the war. This work is known for its meticulous research, vivid descriptions, and engaging storytelling style.

    The 398th Greatest Book of All Time
  2. 2. Tournament

    "Tournament" is a Southern Gothic novel that delves into the life of a young man with a passion for writing, who is coming of age in the Mississippi Delta during the early 20th century. The story follows his experiences and relationships within a declining aristocratic family, exploring themes of ambition, love, and the struggle against societal expectations. As the protagonist navigates through various encounters and personal challenges, the novel paints a vivid picture of the Deep South's culture, its class system, and the impact of history on individual destinies.

    The 4661st Greatest Book of All Time