Doris Kearns Goodwin

Doris Kearns Goodwin is a renowned American biographer, historian, and political commentator. She is known for her award-winning biographies of American presidents, including 'Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln' and 'No Ordinary Time: Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt: The Home Front in World War II.'


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln

    This book explores the political acumen of Abraham Lincoln, focusing on how he assembled his cabinet from political adversaries, many of whom initially dismissed him for his perceived lack of experience and ungainly appearance. The narrative delves into how Lincoln used his rivals' talents to navigate the tumultuous times of the Civil War, maintaining unity and leading the nation towards the abolition of slavery. It underscores Lincoln's extraordinary ability to turn rivals into allies, demonstrating his leadership and his profound impact on American history.

    The 1970th Greatest Book of All Time
  2. 2. The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, And The Golden Age Of Journalism

    This historical work delves into the vibrant era of early 20th-century America, exploring the close friendship and eventual political rivalry between two presidents, Theodore Roosevelt and William Howard Taft. It also highlights the crucial role of muckraking journalists who, with the support of Roosevelt's bully pulpit, exposed corruption and galvanized public opinion. The narrative weaves together the personal and political dynamics that shaped the Progressive Era, showcasing how these leaders and the press collectively brought about significant reforms and forever transformed the American political landscape.

    The 5328th Greatest Book of All Time
  3. 3. Leadership

    This book delves into the lives and leadership styles of four U.S. Presidents, exploring how their distinct backgrounds, personalities, and experiences shaped their approach to the challenges of their time. Through meticulous research and engaging storytelling, the author reveals how each president faced adversity, made critical decisions, and demonstrated resilience and moral leadership. By drawing parallels and contrasts among these leaders, the book offers insightful lessons on leadership that apply beyond the political arena, emphasizing the importance of empathy, humility, and perseverance. Through these historical narratives, the book provides a profound understanding of what it takes to lead effectively in times of crisis and change.

    The 9974th Greatest Book of All Time
  4. 4. No Ordinary Time

    "No Ordinary Time" is a historical narrative focusing on the presidency of Franklin D. Roosevelt during World War II and the significant role his wife, Eleanor, played during his time in office. The book provides a detailed account of the political, social, and personal dynamics of the Roosevelt White House during this critical period in American history, highlighting the couple's unique partnership and their shared commitment to social reform and the welfare of the American people.

    The 11289th Greatest Book of All Time