William H. Gass




William Howard Gass (July 30, 1924 – December 6, 2017) was an American novelist, short-story writer, essayist, critic, and philosophy professor. He penned three novels, three collections of short stories, a collection of novellas, and seven volumes of essays, three of which have won National Book Critics Circle Award prizes and one of which, A Temple of Texts (2006), won the Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism. His 1995 novel The Tunnel received the American Book Award. His 2013 novel Middle C won the 2015 William Dean Howells Medal.





The best books of all time by William H. Gass

  1. 1234 . Fiction and the Figures of Life by William H. Gass

  2. 1239 . The World Within the Word by William H. Gass

  3. 1642 . In the Heart of the Heart of the Country by William H. Gass

  4. 2484 . The Tunnel by William H. Gass

    "Gass has produced a book that burrows inside us then wails like a beast, a book that mainlines a century's terror direct to the brain."-Voice Literary Supplement

    - Google
  5. 2487 . Omensetter's Luck by William H. Gass

    A debut novel set in a rural American town, where Brackett Omensetter arrives, with his wife, family, and all earthly belongings. It soon becomes apparent that he is someone out of the ordinary as ...

    - Google