Patricia C. Wrede

Patricia C. Wrede is an American author of fantasy literature. She is best known for her Enchanted Forest Chronicles series, which includes the popular novel 'Dealing with Dragons.' Wrede's work often features strong female protagonists, magical worlds, and witty dialogue. She has received critical acclaim for her contributions to the fantasy genre and has been a mentor to other writers through her involvement with the Liavek shared-world anthologies.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. Dealing With Dragons

    This novel tells the story of a young princess who is bored with her life and decides to go live with dragons instead of marrying a prince as expected. She becomes the servant of a dragon and learns about magic, dealing with wizards, and how to outsmart those who underestimate her. The book is a humorous and empowering twist on traditional fairy tale tropes, emphasizing the importance of intelligence and independence over beauty and obedience.

  2. 2. Searching For Dragons

    In this enchanting fantasy sequel, a spirited princess teams up with the King of the Dragons to find a missing monarch and tackle the magical troubles plaguing the Enchanted Forest. Together with a cast of quirky characters, including a witch, a floating blue donkey, and a stone prince, they embark on a whimsical adventure that challenges traditional fairy tale norms. Through wit, courage, and clever problem-solving, they navigate a world where magic is real and dragons might not be what they seem, all while uncovering a deeper conspiracy and learning about the true nature of friendship and duty.

  3. 3. Calling On Dragons

    In this enchanting fantasy novel, the third installment of a beloved series, a princess-turned-witch and her companions, including a talking cat and a dragon, embark on a whimsical adventure to stop an evil plot that threatens their kingdom. Along the way, they encounter a diverse cast of characters, including a witty magician and a mischievous young witch. With a blend of humor, magic, and a touch of romance, the group uses their wits and magical abilities to outsmart their enemies and protect their magical world from danger. The story is a celebration of friendship, ingenuity, and the importance of embracing one's unique talents.

  4. 4. Talking To Dragons

    In this enchanting fantasy novel, the story follows a young protagonist who embarks on a perilous journey through a magical forest to find his missing father, the King. Along the way, he encounters a cast of whimsical characters, including a feisty princess, a deceitful witch, and a variety of talking animals. His adventure is filled with riddles, spells, and dragon encounters, which challenge his wit and courage. As the final installment in a series, the book wraps up the overarching narrative with clever twists and the revelation of long-held secrets, ultimately leading to a confrontation with a powerful enemy and a quest to restore peace to the kingdom.