Paul Sayer

Paul Sayer (born 4 October 1955, South Milford, near Leeds) is an English author. His first novel, The Comforts of Madness won the 1988 Whitbread Award for both Best First Novel, and Book of the Year.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. The Comforts of Madness

    "The Comforts of Madness" is a powerful and poignant novel that delves into the mind of a mute and catatonic man confined in a mental asylum. The narrative alternates between his internal monologues, filled with rich and vivid imagery, and the observations and interactions of the hospital staff. The book provides a stark and unsettling exploration of mental illness, challenging the reader's perceptions of sanity and reality.

    The 10856th Greatest Book of All Time