John Crowley

John Crowley is an American author best known for his fantasy, science fiction, and historical fiction novels. He was born on December 1, 1942, in Presque Isle, Maine. Crowley gained critical acclaim with his novel 'Little, Big' (1981), which won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel. His series 'The Aegypt Cycle' is also highly regarded for its intricate blending of history, philosophy, and magic. Crowley's works are known for their complex themes, lyrical prose, and rich storytelling.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. Little, Big

    "Little, Big" is a complex tale that weaves together elements of magical realism, fantasy, and family saga. The story follows the Drinkwater family who live in an eccentric house known as Edgewood, which is somehow bigger on the inside than the outside. The family is connected to the realm of Faerie, and the narrative explores their interactions with this magical world. The book spans multiple generations and intertwines the lives of its characters with the cycles of history and myth, creating a multi-layered narrative about love, family, destiny, and the nature of storytelling itself.

  2. 2. Aegypt

    The novel explores the intertwining lives of several characters, primarily that of a historian who becomes obsessed with the alternative histories and esoteric knowledge of the Renaissance period. As he delves deeper into his research, he begins to question the nature of history, reality, and the possibility of there being more than one true history of the world. The narrative weaves together personal transformation, magical occurrences, and the pursuit of hidden truths, set against the backdrop of both contemporary America and historical Europe, challenging the reader's perception of reality and the boundaries between fact and fiction.

  3. 3. Engine Summer

    In a post-apocalyptic future, a young man named Rush That Speaks lives in a pastoral community that has reverted to a pre-industrial state following the collapse of advanced civilization. He embarks on a quest for knowledge and understanding, driven by a desire to uncover the mysteries of the lost past and the meaning of a cryptic message left behind by his beloved, who has vanished. His journey takes him through the remnants of the old world, encountering various enigmatic tribes and cultures that have adapted in unique ways to the changed Earth. As he delves deeper into the secrets of history, he grapples with profound questions about memory, storytelling, and what it means to be human in a world that has been irrevocably altered.

  4. 4. Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr

    "Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr" is a novel that follows the journey of a crow named Dar Oakley as he travels through time and space, encountering various cultures and civilizations. Along the way, Dar Oakley gains a deep understanding of life, death, and the nature of existence. The novel explores themes of mortality, memory, and the interconnectedness of all things, weaving together elements of fantasy, mythology, and philosophy in a unique and thought-provoking narrative.

  5. 5. Love And Sleep

    "Love and Sleep" is the second novel in a four-part series that weaves together elements of history, mythology, and magic. The narrative follows the life of Pierce Moffett, a historian who becomes entangled in a complex tapestry of events that span centuries. As Pierce delves deeper into the study of Renaissance hermeticism and the mysteries of the past, he also grapples with personal relationships and his own spiritual journey. The novel blends the metaphysical with the mundane, exploring themes of love, knowledge, and the pursuit of truth, all while challenging the boundaries between reality and the supernatural.