T. H. White

T. H. White was an English author best known for his sequence of Arthurian novels, 'The Once and Future King', which were written between 1938 and 1958. His work is widely regarded as a classic of English literature and has been adapted into various media, including the Disney film 'The Sword in the Stone'. White's writing is characterized by his imaginative retelling of the King Arthur legend, exploring themes of justice, power, and human nature.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. The Once and Future King

    This novel is a retelling of the Arthurian legend, from Arthur's childhood tutelage under the wizard Merlyn to his eventual death. The story follows Arthur's journey from a naive boy to a wise and just king, his establishment of the Round Table, his marriage to Guinevere, and his complex relationship with his illegitimate son, Mordred. The narrative explores themes of power, justice, war, and human nature, offering a nuanced and humanizing portrayal of a well-known mythical figure.

    The 232nd Greatest Book of All Time
  2. 2. The Sword in the Stone

    The book is a magical coming-of-age story set in medieval England, following the adventures of a young boy named Wart who is tutored by the eccentric wizard Merlyn. Through a series of fantastical transformations and experiences, Wart learns valuable lessons about life, leadership, and the world around him. Unbeknownst to him, these lessons are preparing him for his ultimate destiny: to pull a legendary sword from a stone and become the future king of England. The narrative combines humor, philosophy, and mythology to explore themes of education, chivalry, and the making of a hero.

    The 3279th Greatest Book of All Time