Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Carlos Ruiz Zafón was a Spanish novelist best known for his 2001 novel 'La Sombra del Viento' ('The Shadow of the Wind'), which is part of his 'Cemetery of Forgotten Books' series. His works, which blend genres such as mystery, historical fiction, and magical realism, have been widely translated and have garnered a global readership. Zafón's storytelling is often characterized by its Gothic tone and intricate plots. He was one of the most-read and most-influential contemporary Spanish writers before his untimely death in 2020.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. The Shadow of the Wind

    The novel follows the story of a young boy in post-war Barcelona, who discovers a mysterious book in a hidden library that his father takes him to, which houses forgotten books. The boy becomes captivated by the book and its author, but as he grows older, he realizes that someone is destroying all books written by this author. As he delves deeper into the mystery, the boy's life becomes intertwined with the author's, revealing a dark and tragic past that someone wants to be kept hidden. The story is a mix of romance, mystery, and a historical narrative set against the turbulent backdrop of a city recovering from war.

    The 1060th Greatest Book of All Time